Heart’s Fog

I haven’t been blogging much, I’ve been working on a manuscript about my experience working as a corrections educator.   I’ve started writing the narrative and it’s gone well when I’ve been able to sit down and write.  But I haven’t been writing as much as I need to, as much as I want to.  I can’t tell if I’m distracting myself, or if it’s just a phase – a flurry of activity from the world outside my writing.

I suppose this is part of why so many writers, artists, and musicians isolate themselves when they need to create.  Although I love my life and my friends and all the wonderful things around me, they intrude on my bandwidth, take away that precious focus I need to generate the good stuff.

This is an entirely new experience for me.

Most of my life the last several years has revolved around my friends, dancing, and my social life.  It is disconcerting to feel alone, to hear some small voice whispering “you could be writing,” even while I thoroughly enjoy my time with my friends.  I feel like I’m in some unknown place, surrounded by a mist that lives and breathes, parting to let me see through, but not for long.

One thought on “Heart’s Fog

  1. As long as there is life in your bones, and you believe that what you write matters, you will always feel this way. There is no comparison for silencing the world and letting your soul speak. Some days, it screams “LISTEN TO ME, WRITE ME” and other days, we have to sit in silence and wrestle with it, drawing words from a seemingly bottomless void. Yes, do the work. 🙂 Keep it up. Make time for that which feeds your soul and imparts some form of beauty to the world – whatever it may be. It will be worth it in the end. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

